Though a private entity, France Muséums is unusual in that it has public sector shareholders, the largest of which is the Louvre Museum. This particular configuration—a private organisation with public backing—means that France Muséums is able to support all kinds of projects, whoever their initiators may be.


The passion shared by the developers of a cultural project must be accompanied by a highly rigorous approach. Rigour and passion are not mutually exclusive: on the contrary, they are complementary and mutually enriching.
Our job is to combine them in order to nurture ecosystems that highlight artistic accomplishments and make them accessible to the widest possible audience.”

Hervé Barbaret, CEO

A graduate of the ENA civil service college, Hervé Barbaret has occupied senior management posts in the French and international arts sector for over fifteen years. He has contributed to many high-profile French and international cultural projects as Deputy Director General of the Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine, General Administrator of Musée du Louvre, Director of the Mobilier National, Director of the Manufacture des Gobelins, the Manufacture de Beauvais and the Manufacture de la Savonnerie, and General Secretary of the French Ministry of Culture. Hervé Barbaret is actively involved in promoting and disseminating French museum expertise.


The France Muséums board brings together three qualified public figures and six public cultural organizations shareholders. Chaired by Sandra Lagumina, Deputy CEO of Méridiam, it oversees the implementation of France Muséums’ activities, in particular France’s commitments to Louvre Abu Dhabi and the promotion of French museum expertise and know-how. The following personalities and representatives sit on the Board of Directors:

Six public heritage organisations associated with France Museums:

  • The musée du Louvre represented by its President-Director, Laurence des Cars
  • Réunion des Musées Nationaux et du Grand Palais represented by its President, Chris Dercon
  • The Centre Pompidou represented by its President, Laurent Le Bon
  • The musées d’Orsay et de l’Orangerie – Valéry Giscard d’Estaing represented by its President, Christophe Leribault
  • The Bibliothèque nationale de France represented by its President, Laurence Engel
  • The musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac represented by its President, Emmanuel Kasarhérou

Three independent members:

  • Sandra Lagumina, Deputy CEO of Méridiam
  • Yves Saint-Geours, President of the French National Commission at UNESCO
  • Christian Giacomotto, Chairman of the Board of Managing Partners of Gimar Finance

Two censors:

  • Anne-Solène Rolland, Former Head of Service des Musées de France (SMF), French Ministry of Culture and newly appointed Director of the Department of Heritage and Collections at musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac
  • Michel Miraillet, Director of Culture, Education and International Development, French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council of France Muséums is chaired by Laurence des Cars, President-Director of the musée du Louvre. It is a consultative body which supports the development and the monitoring of the curatorial and cultural projects of France Muséums. The Scientific Council brings together the following members :

  • Emmanuel Kasarhérou, President of Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac
  • Laurent Le Bon, President of Centre Pompidou
  • Christophe Leribault, President of musées d’Orsay et de l’Orangerie – Valéry Giscard d’Estaing
  • Amélie Simier, Director of musée Rodin
  • Laurence Engel, President of Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)
  • Sophie Makariou, President of musée national des Arts asiatiques – Guimet
  • Sébastien Allard, Director of the Paintings Department at musée du Louvre
  • Yannick Lintz, Director of the Islamic Art Department at musée du Louvre